Finalists announced for The Walters Prize 2020

Auckland Art Gallery announces final nominees for The Walters Prize 2020.

Words: Emma Pham

The Mata Aho Collective, Fiona Amundsen, Sonya Lacey and Sriwhana Spong have been announced as the 2020 finalists for The Walters Prize.

The prize foregrounds the achievements of these New Zealand contemporary artists over the past two years. Representing the very best of the best, The Walters Prize is Aotearoa New Zealand’s highest accolade for contemporary art.

Auckland Art Gallery Director Kirsten Paisley is excited to be announcing the news. “For all these artists, their nomination is a recognition of the strength and resonance of their work,” she says.

The prize was established in 2002, a tribute to modernist painter Gordon Walters. It aims to uplift contemporary art voices and have them become a significant part of cultural life and debate.

Paisley seeks to honour this goal especially amid challenging times. “Due to the impact of COVID-19, it is important to support contemporary artists and provide a platform for the voice of artists to be heard in these uncertain times,” she says.

An outstanding exhibition showcasing the work of the four finalists is to be anticipated.

Image: Walter Prize 2020 finalist works.


Melbourne gallery announces new collecting initiative

Melbourne's MARS Gallery to host a night geared at educating and inspiring young art collectors.

Biennale of Sydney announces 2022 iteration

The Biennale of Sydney 2022 reveals the title of its 23rd iteration along with the first 59 participants.

Angela Tiatia awarded Ian Potter Moving Image Commission

Angela Tiatia awarded Ian Potter Moving Image Commission.

NIAF returns to Sydney in July 2021

The National Indigenous Art Fair returns to The Rocks in early July, marking the beginning of NAIDOC Week 2021.