Telstra NATSIAA Finalists Announced

The 2021 iteration announces 65 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander finalists.

Words: Rose of Sharon Leake

From a total of 248 entries in the 2021 Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards (Telstra NATSIAA), 65 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander finalists from across Australia have been selected. Presented by the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (MAGNT) in partnership with Telstra, Telstra NATSIAA is Australia’s longest running and most prestigious Indigenous art award.

34 of the finalists are from the Northern Territory with 14 from Western Australia, 3 from New South Wales, 1 from Victoria, 9 from South Australia and 4 from Queensland including one Torres Strait Islander artist.

“On behalf of MAGNT, I warmly congratulate this year’s Telstra NATSIAA Finalists,” said MAGNT Director Marcus Schutenko. “I commend the selection panel for making some very tough decisions with such high-quality works. This year’s artists will undoubtedly contribute to a high-impact exhibition with their breadth of artwork mediums and stories from urban and remote places in Australia. We look forward to sharing this artwork with wide audiences via the physical and virtual exhibition experience with sincere thanks to Telstra, our longstanding partner.”

Opening Saturday 7 August 2021 visitors to the 2021 Telstra NATSIAA will experience a range of works including three dimensional, multimedia, paintings, bark paintings and works on paper.

The selection panel included Wadjarri, Nhanda and Nyoongar Artist and former Telstra NATSIAA judge Glenn Iseger-Pilkington, Gulumirrgin (Larrakia)/Wadaman and Karajarri woman and National Gallery of Australia curator Tina Baum, and Trawlwoolway artist and curator Julie Gough.

 Telstra NATSIAA Opening Ceremony will be held on Friday 6 August 2021 at 6pm. Telstra NATSIAA exhibition opens on Saturday 7 August 2021 at 10am and runs until Sunday 6 February 2022.

The finalists are:

New South Wales

Dennis Golding, Sydney NSW

Thea Anamara Perkins, Sydney NSW

Toby Cedar, Thornton NSW

Northern Territory

Adrian Jangala Robertson, Alice Springs NT

Alycia Marrday, Gunbalanya NT

Charles Inkamala, Alice Springs NT

Denise Brady, Kaltukatjara NT

Dhambit Munuŋgurr, Gunyuŋara NT

Dhambit Waṉambi, Yirrkala NT

Dino Wilson Milikapiti, Tiwi Islands NT

Djambawa Marawili, Yilpara NT

Djerrkŋu Yunupiŋu, Yirrkala NT

Djirrirra Wunuŋmurra, Yirrkala NT

Doris Bush, Papunya NT

George Tjungurrayi, Kintore NT

Glen Namundja, Gunbalanya NT

Hubert Pareroultja Mpwarntwe, Alice Springs NT

Ishmael Marika, Yirrkala NT

Karen Rogers, Ngukurr NT

Kaya Dhurumuḻ Munuŋgurr, Yirrkala NT

Kaye Brown Milikapiti, Tiwi Islands NT

Leon Russell (Cameron) Black, Darwin NT

Mario Walarmerpui Pirlangimpi, Tiwi Islands NT

Mary Dhapalany, Ramingining NT

Ms M Wirrpanda (deceased), Yirrkala NT

Muluymuluy Wirrpanda, Yirrkala NT

Napuwarri Marawili, Yilpara NT

Noŋgirrŋa Marawili, Yirrkala NT

Patrick Freddy Puruntatameri Milikapiti, Tiwi Islands NT

Pedro Wonaeamirri Milikapiti, Tiwi Islands NT

Phillip Wilson Nauiyu, Daly River NT

Rhonda Sharpe, Yarrenyty Arltere Town Camp Alice Springs NT

Rona Rubuntja Panangka, Hermannsburg NT

Timothy Cook Milikapiti, Tiwi Islands NT

Tjukapati James, Kaltukatjara NT

Wally Wilfred, Ngukurr NT

Wanapati Yunupiŋu, Yirrkala NT


Dylan Sarra, Brisbane QLD

Elisa Jane Carmichael, Brisbane QLD

Erub Arts Collective, Erub Island, Torres Strait QLD

Kyra Mancktelow, Logan QLD

South Australia

Angkaliya Curtis Nyapari, APY Lands SA SA

Betty Chimney, Indulkana SA

Mary Pan, Amata SA

Peter Mungkuri, Indulkana SA

Sally Scales, Adelaide SA

Stanley Douglas, Amata SA

Tjunkaya Tapaya OAM, Pukatja SA

Witjiti George Fregon, APY Lands SA

Zaachariaha Fielding, Adelaide SA


Christian Thompson, Melbourne, VIC

Western Australia

Ben Ward, Nganalam or Cockatoo Springs WA

Bobby West Tjupurrula, Kiwirrkura WA

Bugai Whyoulter, Kunawarritji WA

David Cox, Warmun WA

Fred Grant, Tjuntjuntjara WA

Jane Cheedy, Roebourne WA

John Prince Siddon, Fitzroy Crossing WA

Katjarra Butler, Tjukurla WA

Ned Grant, Tjuntjuntjara WA

Nola Campbell, Wanarn WA

Nyangulya Katie Nalgood, South Hedland WA

Roma Butler, Irrunytju (Wingellina) WA

Sonia Kurarra, Fitzroy Crossing WA

Timo Hogan, Tjuntjuntjara WA

Image: 2020 Telstra NATSIAA gallery view.


Tolarno Galleries Expands Stable

Guruwuy Murrinyina will join the Melbourne Gallery.

LON Gallery Gets Fired Up with Stephen Benwell

Melbourne gallery reveals the well-known ceramicist as its newest addition.

Mud, Water and Idols in Frosty Glasgow

Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran’s largest installation to date opens in UK.

Jennifer Cochrane Takes Out York Botanic Art Prize

The West Australian sculptor looked to local flora for her winning work.