14th annual Firstdraft Auction is now open

Get your bids in before August 4th.

Words: Erin Irwin

Supporting emerging artists and unconventional practices, Firstdraft Auction is now open. This annual fundraiser, this year featuring 136 artists, is auctioning off 148 artworks and presenting an impressive exhibition of all participating works.

One of the largest fundraising events in Australia, Firstdraft not only provides a vast array of engaging and innovative works, but it also ensures that all artists receive a commission for their works, and that all profits go to providing for artists, curators and writers.

Alongside the auction, Firstdraft will be throwing an unmissable party, with the free Artists Party running Friday 4 August, which will see raffle winners win big, as well as fantastic music and an unforgettable experience.

This year participating artists include Eddie Abd, Maissa Alameddine, Elyas Alavi, Tony Albert, Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer, Emma Armstrong-Porter, Tully Arnot, David Attwood, Kylie Banyard, Ju Bavyka, Rat Bedlington, Neil Beedie, Monika Behrens, Seth Diego Birchall, Karen Black, Tom Blake, Amber Boardman, Kate Bohunnis, Nick Breedon, Matt Bromhead, Hannah Brontë, Kate Brown, Teresa Busuttil, Damien Butler, Raquel Caballero Gary Carsley, Chun Yin Rainbow Chan, Casey Chen, Andrew Christie, Aaron Christopher Rees, Mathew Clarke, Catherine Clayton-Smith, Erin Coates, erincox, Lillian Colgan, Nancy Constandelia, Alice Couttoupes, Leo Coyte, Gabriel Curtin, Marley Dawson, Paula Do Prado & Tomas Marinangeli, Ara Dolatian, Kelly Dolly, Nikolaus Dolman, Charlie Donaldson, Szymon Dorabialski, Simone Douglas, Easton Dunne, Sarah Edmonson, Leila El Rayes, Leila El Rayes & Justine Youssef, Mitch Ferrie, Keesha, Catherine Field, Mia Forrest, Heath Franco, Todd Fuller, Alex Gawronski, Dennis Golding, gustralia, Yvette Hamilton, Jack Harman, Tina Havelock Stevens, Susan Hawkins, Charlotte Haywood, Amrita Hepi, Nadia Hernández, Anthony Hodgkinson, Visaya Hoffie, Jesse Hogan, Morgan Hogg, Yvette James, Gillian Kayrooz, Blake Lawrence, Sam Leach, Belem Lett, James Lieutenant, Eugenia Lim, James Little, Deborah Louise Kelly, Gabby Malpas, Daniel Mckewen, Mish Meijers, Lara Merrett, Clare Milledge, Kate Mitchell, Nick Modrzewski, Jazz Money, Cobie Ann Moore, Nolan Ho Wung Murphy, Audrey Newtown, Jonny Niesche, Emily Parsons-Lord, Jason Phu, Anna Pogossova, Tom Polo, NC Qin, Mandy Quadrio, Ben Quilty, Morus Quin, Monica Rani Rudhar, Elvis Richardson, Betty Russ, Billy Ryan, Koji Ryui, Khaled Sabsabi, Huseyin Sami, Lisa Sammut, Marikit Santiago, Nick Santoro, Rebecca Selleck, Amelia Skelton, Nicola Smith, Diana Baker Smith, EJ Son, Giselle Stanborough, Greg Stanford, M. Sunflower, Jayanto Tan, Dorcas Tang 邓佳颖, Katie Theodorus, Garry Trinh, Natalie Quan Yau Tso, Kate Vassallo, Azrielle de Vor, Skye Wagner, Kai Wasikowski, Alana Wesley, Jodie Whalen, Bryden Williams, Paul Williams, Min Wong, Zoe Wong, Yiorgo Yiannopoulos, Paul Yore, Siying Zhou and Tianli Zu.

Bidding runs until 9pm on the 4 August. To place your bid, visit their website here.

This article was posted 2 August 2023.

Image: Koji Ryui, Have a Nice Day (Soft Core edition), 2017. Courtesy: the artist and Firstdraft Auction.


Finalists for this year’s Telstra NATSIAA revealed

72 finalists to compete for the 2024 Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards.

Hoor Al Qasimi to head up 2026 Sydney Biennale

The Artistic Director of the 25th Biennale of Sydney has been announced.

Linda Judge thrills the judges

This year’s Bayside Painting Prize goes to Victorian artist’s self-portrait.

AGNSW buildings bestowed with Aboriginal language names

The Art Gallery of New South Wales has christened their two buildings.