And the 2020 Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship winners are…

Five artists have been awarded the prestigious art scholarship.

Words: Rose of Sharon Leake

After a turbulent year in the art world, and the rest of the world for that matter, five artists have a $10,000 reason to celebrate. Charlie Ingemar Harding (Victoria); Emily Grace Imeson (NSW); Dan Kyle (NSW); Lily Platts (NSW) and Georgia Spain (Tasmania) were today awarded the 2020 Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship and are set to receive $10,000 each, and a two-week residency at Shark Island Institute in Kangaroo Valley, New South Wales.

“I’m really looking forward to seeing what these young artists produce during the residency at Shark Island Institute,” tells Lucy Culliton, guest judge artist of the scholarship, “where they have the opportunity to work together should they wish.”

Along with the cash prize, the five young artists (aged between 20 to 30, as per the scholarships entry requirements), will be offered a mentoring session during their residencies by Ben Quilty, a former recipient of the Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship.

While in previous years the scholarship has been awarded to a single artist, with a prize of $40,000, this year sees a new format with five winners sharing the award.

“That the Scholarship this year is shared between five artists instead of a single artist speaks to the moment we’re in, where we all need to work together and find new ways of thinking for the benefit of our community,” says Michael Brand, Art Gallery of New South Wales director.

“The Scholarship remains a prestigious, national painting award and I welcome all five recipients to the Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship alumni who have, like Brett Whiteley before them, had their worlds open up as a result of being offered this opportunity to spend time creating work in a new location.”

Curated by Wendy Whiteley, works from each artists’ winning body of work will be on display at the Brett Whiteley Studio in Surry Hills from 15 October until 15 November 2020. The exhibition will also include works by finalists Amelia Carroll, Alice Palmer, Cosima Scales, Ondine Seabrook, Lilli Stromland and Christopher Zanko.

Image: Installation view of the 2020 Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship exhibition at the Brett Whiteley Studio, Surry Hills. Photo: AGNSW, Christopher Snee.


Ngununggula, the Southern Highlands’ first regional art gallery, opens with a bang

Five years in the making, the long-awaited gallery brings art and culture to the fore.

LON Gallery takes on three new artists

Melbourne gallery announces representation of painters Casey Jeffrey, Tim McMonagle, and Kate Wallace.

New public art gallery to open in Sydney

A historic Double Bay building has been reinvented as Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf, set to open in November.

THIS IS NO FANTASY now representing Ezz Monem

Melbourne gallery picks up Egyptian photographic artist Ezz Monem.