Finalists for this year’s Telstra NATSIAA revealed

72 finalists to compete for the 2024 Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards.

Words: Erin Irwin

Established in 1984, the Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Awards (NATSIAA) seek to acknowledge works that celebrate culture and Country, accepting submissions across a plethora of categories designed to embrace the vast range of First Nations artistic endeavour. Presented by the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (MAGNT), the 41st year of the Telstra NATSIAA has attracted 238 entrants, of which 72 have been selected as finalists, 21 of which are emerging artists.

“With 21 finalists falling under the emerging artist category, the 41st Telstra NATSIAA highlights the vitality and innovation of the next generation of Aboriginal artists and continues the legacy of exhibiting emerging artists alongside well-known names”, says MAGNT Director Adam Worrall. “The talent, strength of culture and new directions being explored by artists this year is astounding”.

31 of these finalists are NT-based, including Aileen Napaljarri Long, Alfonso Puautjimi, Artists of Ampilatwatja, Billy Tjampitjinpa Kenda, Bobby West Tjupurrula, Bulthirrirri Wunuŋmurra, Burŋanydji Gaykamaŋu, Carol Puruntatameri, Charles Jangala Inkamala, Conrad Tipungwuti Kamilowra, Dhukumul Waṉambi, Gaypalani Waṉambi, Grace Kemarre Robinya, Helen Ganalmirriwuy Garrawurra, Joe Dhamanydji, Joe Guymala, Johnathon World Peace Bush, Julieanne Gitjpulu Malibirr, Louisa Kngwarray Long, Lucy Yarawanga, Marcus ‘Double O’ Camphoo Kemarre, Milminyina Dhamarrandji, Motorbike Paddy Ngal, Nancy Long Nungarrayi and Rene Long Nungarrayi, Obed Namirrkki, Russell Ngadiyali Wanapuyngu, Sally M Nangala Mulda, Steven Jupurrurla Nelson, Wally Wilfred, Wayilkpa Maymuru, and Wurrandan Marawili.

From NSW we will see Delma Praljak-Trindall, Stacey Louise Hampton, and Thea Anamara Perkins, and VIC-based artists include Clinton Naina and Lisa Waup.

QLD-based artists that have been selected include Bernard Lee Singleton, Brian Robinson, Clare Jaque Vasquez, David Bosun, Dylan Sarra, Garry Namponan, Janet Fieldhouse, Janet Koongotema, Karen Klimm-Richardson, and Shannon Brett.

The SA-based finalists include Betty Campbell, Betty Muffler, Donna Coulthard, Frank Young, George Cooley, Iluwanti Ken, Josina Pumani, LeShaye Swan, Mardawi Lakun (Sister Weavers), Muna Kulyuru, and Rene Sundown, and WA-based artists include Allery Sandy, Brett Nannup, Bugai Whyoulter, Doreen Chapman, Helicopter (Joe Tjungurrayi), Lydia Balbal, Madeline Purdie, Nagula Jarndu Artists, Melissa Sandy, Mervyn Street, Natalie Davey, Noli Rictor, and Tyrown Waigana.

Last but certainly not least, two TAS-based artists have been selected, Dean Greeno and Louise Daniels.

This year’s selection panel have said that “recognising the courage and generosity inherent in sharing one’s art, we want every artist to know their work was valued”.

“The selected works embody the richness and complexity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art, celebrating artistic innovation and storytelling from every corner of our continent”.

The 2024 Telstra NATSIAAs will be awarded on Friday 9 August to 7 deserving winners, and all finalist works will be exhibited from 22 June 2024 until 27 January 2025 at MAGNT.

This article was posted 21 May 2024.

Image: Telstra NATSIAA 2023, installation view. Photo: Mark Sherwood. Courtesy: the artists, the Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Awards, and the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory, Darwin.


Sydney Contemporary reveals lineup

The art fair will return to Carriageworks this September.

Guy Warren passes after 80 years of artmaking

The eminent Australian artist has died aged 103.

Mabel Juli honoured with Red Ochre Award

The senior Gija artist is recognised for her lifetime achievement in the arts.

Artists go undercover once again

The Incognito Art Show returns to Sydney this July.