Firstdraft Auction 2020 goes online

Virtual auction for one of Australia’s longest-running artist-led orgs.

Words: Erin Irwin

Firstdraft, one of Australia’s longest running artist-led organisations, is set to host it’s 11th auction.

The annual Firstdraft Auction features art donated by many of Australia’s most noteworthy artists, allowing them to support emerging and experimental artists while providing an exceptional opportunity for collectors to acquire collectable pieces for a good cause.

Due to current circumstances, this year’s auction will be the first to be hosted entirely online. Additionally, in recognition of the difficulties affecting the art world at the moment, Firstdraft has doubled artist commissions to 50 per cent.

Half of the sale will go to the donor artists, and half will go to Firstdraft to be used to support the arts community and continue their exhibitions.

This year, featured artists include: Abdul AbdullahAgatha Gothe-SnapeAida AzinAmber BoardmanAmber Koroluk-StephensonAmrita HepiAnna CareyAnna May KirkAnne ZahalkaAnthony HodgkinsonAra DolatianBelem LettBlake LawrenceBrendan Van HekBruno BoothChris DolmanChun Yin Rainbow ChanClara AdolphsClare ThackwayConsuelo CavanigliaDane LovettDean CrossDylan BattyEmily HuntEmily Parsons-LordEmma FinneranGenevieve Felix ReynoldsGlenn BarkleyGregory HodgeHayley Millar-BakerHeath FrancoJames LieutenantJason PhuJayanto Damanik TanJD ReformaJesse RyeJoan RossJodie WhalenJonny NiescheKai WasikowskiKate MitchellKate VassalloKen DoneKevin DialloKalanjay DhirKieran BryantLeyla StevensLisa SammutLouise ZhangMarikit SantiagoMason KimberMatt BromheadMechelle BounpraseuthMitch CairnsNabilah NordinNadia HernándezNadia OdlumNancy ConstandeliaNathan BeardNeil BeedieNick ModrzewskiNoel McKennaSLIPPAGERaquel CaballeroRat BedlingtonRebecca GalloRebecca SelleckReko RennieRoberta Joy RichRochelle HaleyRosie DeaconSam DoctorSam LeachSancintya Mohini SimpsonSarah BrasierSarah EdmondsonSeth Diego BirchallShivanjani LalSidney McMahonSimon GardamSophie Penkethman-YoungTalia SmithTara MarynowskyTarik AhlipTeelah GeorgeTim SilverTina Havelock StevensTom BlakeTom PoloTony AlbertTully ArnotTV Moore and Zoe Wong.

This year’s auction will take place from Thursday 17 to Sunday 27 September 2020.

For more information on the auction, sign up for Firstdraft’s auction mailing list here.

Image: Documenting artist Bruno Booth’s donation to the 2020 Firstdraft Auction, 2020. Courtesy: the artist, Zan Wimberley and Firstdraft.


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Finalists for this year’s Telstra NATSIAA revealed

72 finalists to compete for the 2024 Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards.

Hoor Al Qasimi to head up 2026 Sydney Biennale

The Artistic Director of the 25th Biennale of Sydney has been announced.

Linda Judge thrills the judges

This year’s Bayside Painting Prize goes to Victorian artist’s self-portrait.

AGNSW buildings bestowed with Aboriginal language names

The Art Gallery of New South Wales has christened their two buildings.