Shelley Simpson Ceramics Prize

Medium / category: Ceramics

Eligibility: Australian ceramic artists

Associated institution: MUD Australia

The Shelley Simpson Ceramics Prize (SSCP) was introduced in 2020 by Mud Australia Founder and Creative Director, Shelley Simpson. The mission of the Shelley Simpson Ceramics Prize (SSCP) is to support the next generation of Australian ceramicists. These artists may be working across functional, small-scale, fine art, handcrafted or more complex commercial pursuits with ceramics. ​The winner receives a $10,000 cash prize to support either their studies or further pursue their ceramics career, as well as a mentor-mentee relationship with Shelley Simpson.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Cassie Hansen

Winner: First Prize

The Different Award Categories

The award categories include a $10,000 first prize, a $2,000 second prize and a $1,000 third prize.

Information up to date from June 14 2023