Bruce Reynolds wins the 21st Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

The Brisbane-based unrepresented artist wins $25,000 award.

Words: Rose of Sharon Leake

Sculpture artist Bruce Reynolds has taken out the 2022 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, nabbing the $25,000 award for his work Animal Kraters, a cast hydrocal and pigment work measuring 72 x 72 x 52cm.

“It is gratifying and validating to win this highly competitive award,” says the artist. “It is a form of recognition representing the other side of studio practice, where labour is invested on faith, well away from the art world. This is especially so for artists working without representation or searching for a new model of relationship with their audience. Financially, it enables me to continue in the studio with increased resolve and ambition, keeping the distraction of costs at bay a while longer. My sincere thanks to all involved.”

2022 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize judges Joan Ross, Kon Gouriotis OAM and José Da Silva commented: “The judges were unanimous in their choice of Animal Krater by Brisbane-based artist Bruce Reynolds. The work left a strong impression on the judges, who found the piece exceedingly fascinating and resolutely well-made. The form makes exquisite use of cast relief elements that capture the imprint of various surfaces. The collaged parts fuse to create a vessel that feels effortless and suggestive of different eras and uses. It is evocative of archaic pottery and the materiality of 3D printing and could be interpreted as a vessel and a nest, ornamental and practical, sculpture and painting.”

The winning sculptures were chosen from a finalist group of 49 works, chosen through a blind selection process from 684 entries, by judges Joan Ross (Sydney-based artist), José Da Silva (Gallery Director and Curator) and Kon Gouriotis OAM (editor of Artist Profile). Coming from every state and territory in Australia, and New Zealand, finalists include Ara Dolatian, Amala Groom, Franky Howell, Antoinette O’Brien, Leonie Rhodes, Lynda Draper, Mai Nguyen-Long, Michael Cusack, Pippin Drysdale and Vipoo Srivilasa.

The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is Australia’s pre-eminent prize for small sculpture and the first national acquisitive prize for an original sculpture of up to 80cm, presented by Woollahra CouncilReynolds’ winning work Animal Kraters will be acquired for the Council’s permanent public collection, joining previous winners Tim Silver, Robert Owen, Yvonne Kendall, Rhonda Sharpe and Mikala Dwyer.

Nabilah Nordin (represented by Neon Parc, Melbourne) received the Special Commendation Award of $2,000 for Glut Cherry, and Peter Tilley was selected for the Mayor’s Award, winning $1,000 for The Next Voyage.

The 2022 finalists’ works will be on display at Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf in an exhibition running from 13 October to 20 November 2022. All sculptures are on sale to the public with prices ranging from $500- $27,500. Admission is free and the gallery is open Wednesday to Sunday.

This article was posted 13 October 2022.

Image: Winning work by Bruce Reynolds, Animal Kraters, 2022. Photo: Jacquie Manning. Courtesy: the artist and Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize. 


High five for NIAF

The National Indigenous Art Fair is back this June for its 5th edition.

Sydney has its eye on a new gallery

Woollahra welcomes A Secondary Eye.

RAFT artspace closes its doors

8 Hele Gallery to take over from longstanding Alice Springs gallery.

Fiona Lowry joins Sydney Gallery

N.Smith Gallery expands its stable with Archie winner.