The 2022 Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship Award Winners announced

Six young artists have been awarded the prestigious Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship providing two types of residencies for the first time.

Words: Adriana Borsey

The 24th Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship has been awarded to six young Australian painters with the scholarship providing two types of residencies for the first time. Following a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, Art Gallery of New South Wales director Michael Brand  said, ‘I’m proud that we can provide more young artists with exceptional, formative experiences than we’ve been able to offer in the past’. This year’s recipients, Mark Maurangi Carrol, Sarah Drinan, Bill Hawkins, Miranda Hine, Drew Connor Holland, and Flin Sharp will receive $10,000 as part of the scholarship.

Guest artist, judge Mitch Cairns– 2012 recipient- awarded one artist a three-month residency at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris as well as five artists a two-week residency at Shark Island Institute Kangaroo Valley.

Cairns selected 11 finalists and six scholarship recipients from 187 entries. ‘The finalists comprising the 2022 scholarship collectively mark the very healthy state of painting being produced by emerging artists in Australia today. As this year’s judge I would like to thank all of those who entered and congratulate the 11 finalists and six scholarship recipients’, he said.

This year’s Cité recipient is Bill Hawkins (VIC), who is set to receive $40,000 in funding to further his art education while in Europe. On the wining body of work Cairns said: ‘I found the works to be utterly compelling, alive in their surface quality and capacity to destabilise my painting mind. The works are at once rich and reserved; both sensitive to the historical lineages of painting, while remaining at peace with their own personal artistic entanglement.’

The Paris residency for Hawkins will take place from July to September 2023, whilst the five Shark Island recipients will take their residency in Kangaroo Valley in November 2022.

Scholarship recipient artworks will be on display at the Brett Whiteley Studio in Surry Hills, along with works by other finalists Amelia Carroll (ACT), Brodie Cullen (NSW), Emily Galicek (NSW), Nina Radonja (NSW) and Oliver Scherer (NSW) until Sunday 27 November 2022.

This article was posted 28 October 2022.

Image: Bill Hawkins (age 30, Coburg, Vic), Recipient Cité internationale des arts residency, Metamorphosis 2022, oil, eggshells and modelling paste on wooden board, 20 x 28 cm, Collection of the artist. Courtesy: Bill Hawkins and The Art Gallery of NSW, Sydney.

Image Tile: Installation view of the Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship 2022 exhibition at the Brett Whiteley Studio, Surry Hills. Photo © AGNSW, Diana Panuccio.


The Sydney Modern Project opens new doors

The Art Gallery of New South Wales unveils its expanded exhibitions spaces, and Art Collector gets an inside view with deputy director Maud Page.

Small painting takes out nation’s biggest portrait prize

Victorian artist Graeme Drendel takes out Doug Moran National Portrait Prize with portrait of fellow artist.
Image: Ikuntji Artists' booth, Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair, 2022. Photo: Michael Jalaru Torres

Record Sales at Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair

DAAF sees $4.33 million in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art sold.

Desart’s online Christmas MarketPlace returns this weekend

Virtual MarketPlace offers the best of Central Desert Art in lead-up to gifting season.