National Photographic Portrait Prize

Medium / category: Photography and Portraiture

Eligibility: Australian artists aged 18 years or older

Associated institution: National Portrait Gallery  

The National Photographic Portrait Prize is selected from a national field of entries, reflecting the distinctive vision of Australia’s aspiring and professional portrait photographers and the unique nature of their subjects. The submitted artwork must be a photograph, created using either traditional photographic emulsion or digital process in a two-dimensional format.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Shea Kirk, Ruby

Winner: National Photographic Portrait Prize

The Different Award Categories

The winner receives a $30,000 cash prize and photographic equipment courtesy of Canon Australia. There are other prizes too, including Highly Commended supported by EIZO, an Art Handlers’ Award thanks to IAS Fine Art Logistics, and the People’s Choice Award, supported by the Calvert-Jones Foundation. The People’s Choice Award is supported by the Calvert-Jones Foundation, with the artist who wins the most votes receiving $10,000.

Information up to date from June 14 2023