William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize

Medium / category: Photography

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: Monash Gallery of Art

MAPh invites artists to submit still photo-based media including analogue and digital photography created over the last year for consideration. The winning work will be awarded $30,000 and will be acquired into MAPh’s collection of Australian photographs. One artist is selected for the $10,000 Wai Tang Commissioning Award.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Amos Gebhardt, Wallaby

Winner: William And Winifred Bowness Photography Prize

The Different Award Categories

The winning artist receives $30,000 and their work is acquired by the MAPh. One artist is also selected for the $10,000 Wai Tang Commissioning Award which coincides with the 2024 Bowness Photography Prize exhibition season. The Smith & Singer People’s Choice Award is voted by the public with the recipient receiving $5,000.

Information up to date from June 14 2023