Alice Prize

Medium / category: All mediums

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: Alice Springs Art Foundation

The Alice Prize is a biennial acquisitive national contemporary art prize, welcoming entries from around Australia, in any medium or theme. Coordinated by the Alice Springs Art Foundation, the Prize is judged by a selection panel and judge.

The Alice Prize and the Alice Springs Art Foundation were set up in 1970 to bring contemporary art from across Australia to Alice Springs for the benefit of its isolated residents. The first exhibition was held on the 3rd of October 1970 at Rumball Hall, a rusting corrugated iron shed in the old showgrounds. The final exhibition, made up of finalists, is now based at the Araluen Arts Centre, which was built in 1984 after lobbying from the Art Foundation and others wanting a more distinguished venue and a professional storage facility for the growing Central Australian arts collections.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Adrian Jangala Robertson, Family in Yalpirakinu

Winner: Alice Prize

  • Glenn Clarke, Asymmetrical Multipolarity Sunset

Winner: People’s Choice Award

The Different Categories

The Awards include the acquisitive Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing, valued at $25,000. Finalists in the competition are also eligible to be considered for the non-acquisitive People’s Choice Award, valued at $2,000.

Information up to date from June 14 2023