The Bayton Award

Medium / category: All mediums

Eligibility: Entrants must have resided in one of the eligible Central Queensland regions or shires for 12 months or more

Associated institution: Rockhampton Museum of Art

The Bayton Award is a biennial art prize and exhibition open to all forms of art media created by Central Queensland artists. The prize is presented by Rockhampton Regional Council’s Rockhampton Museum of Art and consists of 4 categories of cash prizes totalling $18,000.

Begun in 2012, The Bayton Award is an art prize named in honour of The Right Reverend John Bayton who was the Chair of Rockhampton Art Gallery’s Art Acquisition Fund in 1975. An artist in his own right, he was instrumental in establishing Rockhampton’s collection of nationally significant artworks, together with Mayor Rex Pilbeam, Architect Neil McKendry and Gallery Director Don Taylor. A selection panel of visual arts experts from outside Central Queensland shortlist the entries, with finalists going on to be exhibited at Rockhampton Museum of Art.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Easton Dunne

Winner: The Bayton Award

The Different Award Categories

The award categories include the $10,000 Bayton Award, the $5,000 runner-up award, the $1,000 People’s Choice Award and the $1,000 Chris Warby Emerging Artist Bursary awards.

Information up to date from June 14 2023