Waterhouse Natural Science Art Prize

Medium / category: All mediums

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: South Australian Museum

The Waterhouse Natural Science Art Prize was first exhibited in 2003 and commemorates the birth of the South Australian Museum’s first curator, Frederick George Waterhouse. The prize is an opportunity for artists to investigate the world around them, and present their perspectives on natural science. It encourages artists to make a statement about the scientific issues facing our planet, and offers a valuable platform for them to contribute to the environmental debate. Since 2003 artists from over 30 different countries, including the United Kingdom, Ecuador, Israel, Syria, France and Canada, have taken part in the competition. Hundreds of entries are received each year, and the Prize is judged by an independent jury that changes for each competition.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Kyoko Hashimoto and Guy Keulemans, Bioregional Rings (Central Coast)

Winner: Waterhouse Natural Science Art Prize

The Different Award Categories

The award categories include the Waterhouse Natural Science Art Prize and the emerging artist award.

Information up to date from June 14 2023