Grace Cossington Smith Art Award

Medium / category: Painting

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: Abbotsleigh School

This biennial art award is sponsored by Abbotsleigh school and commemorates one of its alumnae, Grace Cossington Smith, who is known as a pioneer of modernist painting in Australia. The Grace Cossington Smith Gallery and Abbotsleigh invites submissions for the award for work in any two-dimensional media in response to the theme.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Nadia Hernández

Winner: Grace Cossington Smith Art Award

  • Alice Wormald

Winner: Early career artist award

  • David Collins

Winner: local artist award

The Different Award Categories

The award categories include the $15,000 acquisitive Grace Cossington Smith Art Award, the $2,500 early career award and the $2,500 local artist award (Hornsby and Ku-ring-gai area).

Information up to date from June 14 2023