Wynne Prize

Medium / category: Landscape painting

Eligibility: Australian / New Zealand citizens or permanent residents

Associated institution: Art Gallery of New South Wales

The Wynne Prize is awarded annually for ‘the best landscape painting of Australian scenery in oils or watercolours or for the best example of figure sculpture by Australian artists’. The prize was established following a bequest by Richard Wynne, who died in 1895, and first awarded in 1897, in honour of the official opening of the Gallery at its present site. This open competition is judged by the trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales. Finalists are displayed in an exhibition at the Art Gallery (although in the early years all entrants were hung).

Notable Previous Winners


  • Zaachariaha Fielding, Inma

Winner: Wynne Prize

Information up to date from June 14 2023