Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

Medium / category: Photography

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: HOTA Gallery

Exclusive to HOTA, the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award was launched in 2002 in collaboration with the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Foundation. Since the Award’s inception, 60 works have been acquired by HOTA, resulting in a celebrated collection that reflects shifts in the cultural and social landscape over two decades.

The Award exhibition honours the philanthropy of Mrs Win Schubert AO (1937-2017). The $25,000 acquisitive award is open to artists working in the broad medium of contemporary photography. A diverse range of traditional and expanded types of photographic media, from print to digital, large format, and photographic process print were encouraged to submit. The winning work is acquired by HOTA Gallery and exhibited in the gallery space with the finalists. In addition, visitors to the exhibition vote for the non-acquisitive $5,000 People’s Choice Award.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Wani Toaishara, Do Black Goys Go to Heaven.

Winner: Josephine Ulrick And Win Schubert Photography Award

Previous notably winners include Tamara Dean, Shaun Gladwell, Darren Sylvester, Lynne Roberts-Goodwin, Polixeni Papapetrou, Polly Borland and Cherine Fahd.

Information up to date from June 14 2023