Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize 2024

Medium / category: Sculpture

Requirements: The work must be a sculpture (defined as freestanding, non-site specific, three-dimensional objects or wall-mounted objects) that does not not exceed 80cm in any dimension

Eligibility: The Prize is open to Australian and International artists of all career levels

Associated institutions: Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf, Sydney

Exhibition dates: From 13 September to 20 October 2024 at the  Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf, Sydney

The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is an international award for original, freestanding or wall-mounted sculptures of up to 80cm in any dimension.

Over its 23-year history, the Prize has featured some of the world’s most exciting contemporary sculptures, and continues to promote and celebrate artistic excellence.

Finalists of note have included artists such as Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran, Amala Groom, Shireen Taweel, Nathan Beard, Nabilah Nordin, Maria Fernanda Cardoso, Lynda Draper, Juz Kitson, and Jamie North. Winners include Alex Seton, Rhonda Sharpe, Sanné Mestrom, and Mikala Dwyer.

The 2024 Prize judges are Liz Nowell, Executive Director of Arts Project Australia, Jarrod Rawlins, Director of Curatorial Affairs at the Museum of Old and New Art, and Erin Vink, Art Gallery of New South Wales Curator, First Nations Art.


The Prize features a prize pool of $29,000 awarded to winning artists across four categories: the main acquisitive award of $25,000; the Special Commendation of $2,000; the Mayor’s Award of $1,000 and the Viewers’ Choice of $1,000.

Previous Judges

2023: Alex Seton, Blak Douglas, Dr Kate Harrison

2022: José Da Silva, Kon Gouriotis OAM, Joan Ross

2021: Dr Lara Strongman, Jenny Kee AO, Joanna Capon OAM

2019: Louise Herron AM, Tim Ross, Professor Ross Harley

2018: Amanda Love, Michael Lynch AO CBE

2017: Djon Mundine OAM, Roslyn Oxley, Alexie Glass-Kantor

2016: Wendy Whiteley OAM, Barry Keldoulis, Rhonda Davis

2015: Dr Michael Brand, Penelope Seidler AM, Barbara Flynn

2014: Lisa Havilah, Gretel Packer, Justin Miller

2013: Nick Mitzevich, Professor Ian Howard

2012: Guido Belgiorno-Nettis AM, Natalie Wilson, Professor Janice Reid AM

2011: Ted Snell AM, Dr Gene Sherman AM

2010: John Kaldor AM, Glenn Barkley, Monica McMahon

2009: Geoffrey Cassidy, Neil Balnaves, Diane Balnaves

2008: Edmund Capon AM OBE, Deborah Edwards

2007:  Laura Back, John McPhee

2006: Anthony Bond, Felicity Fenner, Professor Anne Graham

2005: William Wright AM, John Stringer

2004: Wayne Tunnicliffe, Ken Unsworth

2003: Rachel Kent, Roslyn Oxley

2002: Keith Cottier, May Barry

2001: Deborah Edwards, Benjamin Genocchio

Previous Winners

2023: Anita Johnson, Tenderness

2022: Bruce Reynolds, Animal Kraters

2021: Rhonda Sharpe, Desert Woman with Mustache, Coolamon and Pretty Clothes

2019: Merran Esson, Autumn On The Monaro

2018: Tim Silver, Untitled (When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom’d 02)

2017: Sanné Mestrom, Self Portrait (Sleeping Muse)

2016: Todd Robinson, Psychic Staircase

2015: Robert Owen, Symmetria #37

2014: Natalie Guy, Form for modern living #2

For Artists
What you need to know

The Prize is open to Australian and International artists of all career levels.

For the purpose of the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, sculptures are defined as freestanding, non-site specific, three-dimensional objects or wall-mounted objects. Entries should not exceed 80cm in any dimension, and must have a stable base (or appropriate mount). The overall weight and dimensions must allow for easy transportation, and not exceed the carrying capacity of two average persons.

All entries must be the original work of the submitting artist and must have been designed or completed within two years prior to September 2024. There is no limit to the number of entries an artist can submit. A separate entry form and fee must accompany each entry. Only one work per artist will be shown in the exhibition. Collaborative entries are acceptable.

Dates for your diary

Open for Entries: Entries are open now, and close 30 June 2024

Finalists Announced: August 2024

Winners Announced: 12 September 2024

Exhibition of Finalists: 13 September to 20 October 2024

To enter, visit the prize’s website here.

For more information, check out their socials on Instagram.