Blake Art Prize

Medium / category: All mediums

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: Casula Powerhouse

Since 1951, The Blake Prize has engaged artists, nationally and internationally, with ideas of spirituality and religion. The prize takes its name from William Blake, the world-famous 18th Century artist, and poet who threaded the religious and artistic throughout his practice. Building on this history, the 67th Blake Prize continues to encourage contemporary artists of varied styles and religious and spiritual allegiances to create significant works of art, which engage in conversations and negotiations concerning spirituality, religion and/or belief. Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre has proudly presented The Blake Prize as a biennial event since 2016. The Black Prize presents an aesthetic means of exploring the wider experience of spirituality and all this may entail through visionary imagining of contemporary artists. The judges then choose the contemporary artwork which best responds to the prize’s theme.

Notable Previous Winners


  • J Norman, Cicatrix (All that was taken, all that remains), 2021

Winner:  The Blake Prize

The Different Award Categories

The Awards include the $35,000 no-acquisitive Blake Prize, the $6,000 acquisitive Blake Emerging Artist Prize and the Blake Established Artist Residency, which consists of a residency and solo exhibition hosted by the Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre.

Information up to date from June 14 2023