Darling Portrait Prize

Medium / category: Painting and Portraiture

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: National Portrait Gallery

The Darling Portrait Prize is a biennial national prize for Australian portrait painting honouring the legacy of Mr L Gordon Darling AC CMG (1921-2015), who was instrumental in establishing the National Portrait Gallery of Australia. The winner receives a cash prize of $75,000.

For more information on this year’s prize, check out the Darling Portrait Prize 2024 here.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Jaq Grantford

Winner: Darling Portrait Prize

The Different Award Categories

The Darling Portrait Prize awards a first place winner which receives $75,000. The finalists and highly commended are also presented in the exhibition.

Information up to date from June 14 2023