Doug Moran National Portrait Prize

Medium / category: Portraiture

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: Moran Arts Foundation

The Doug Moran National Portrait Prize encourages both excellence and creativity in contemporary Australian portraiture. Since its establishment in 1988 by passionate supporters of the arts, Doug and Greta Moran AO, the Prize has supported artists striving to achieve success and recognition in portraiture.

Artists are asked to interpret the look and personality of a chosen sitter, either unknown or well-known from any walk of Australian life. The sitter should be or should have been aware of your intent to enter their portrait in the Doug Moran National Portrait Prize. Entries must be original works painted in oil, acrylic, watercolour, ink, pastel, egg tempera or mixed media. The Prize is acquisitive and the winning artwork immediately becomes the property of the Moran Arts Foundation, to be held and exhibited as part of the Moran Collection. The winner of the Doug Moran National Prize receives $150,000.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Graeme Drendel, Portrait of Lewis Miller

Winner: Doug Moran National Portrait Prize

Information up to date from June 14 2023