Evelyn Chapman Art Award

Medium / category: Painting

Eligibility: Australian Artists aged 45 or younger

Associated institution: The Evelyn Chapman Trust

The Evelyn Chapman Art Award is a $50,000 scholarship, presented to an Australian painter, male or female under 45. The Award, given every two years, is intended to support a young Australian painter by furthering their art education both in knowledge and artistic practice internationally or in Australia. The scholarship will cover the reasonable costs of the award winner for a period of 2 years, whilst studying at a recognised and well-established art school or cultural organisation approved by the Trustee, overseas or within Australia.

Born in 1888 in Sydney, Evelyn Chapman was a painter who spent her working career in Australia and Europe. She exhibited in the Salon in France, before travelling to battlefronts of France following the First World War. She became the first female artist to depict the devastated fields, churches and towns of the western front. Chapman retired as painter following her marriage; however she espoused art education and practice, particularly in her daughter.

Applicants may submit one or more landscape, portrait or still life paintings in oils or tempera. A selection committee of three judges will then come to a consensus on the applicant who displays the highest artistic merit.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Evelyn Chapman, Nest

Winner: Evelyn Chapman Art Award

Information up to date from June 14 2023