Gallipoli Art Prize

Medium / category: Painting

Eligibility: Artists born in Australia, New Zealand or Turkey or hold Australian, New Zealand or Turkish citizenship

Associated institution: Gallipoli Memorial Club

The Gallipoli Art Prize commemorates the legacy of those heroes who fought on the Gallipoli Peninsula in 1915. Eligible artists are invited annually to submit work that best depicts the spirit of the Gallipoli Campaign. The first official announcement of this project was made on 15 April 2005 by the then Prime Minister of Australia, John Howard MP, of the intention to conduct the art prize competitions in Australia and Turkey. Each competitor may, at their expense, submit one piece of original work produced in either oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed. The term of reference to be used is the spirit of the Gallipoli Campaign as expressed in the Club’s Creed.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Andrew Tomkins, Ray’s Room

Winner: The Gallipoli Art Prize

Information up to date from June 14 2023