Glover Prize

Medium / category: Painting

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: The John Glover Society Inc.

Celebrating the legacy of John Glover, The John Glover Art Prize (Glover Prize) is an awards for landscape painting, open to artists from anywhere in the world. It is awarded annually by The John Glover Society Inc. for the work judged the best contemporary landscape painting of Tasmania. Landscape painting is defined in its broadest sense. The aim is to stimulate conversations about the meaning and possibilities expressed in the words landscape, painting and Tasmania. The winner receives $75,000 plus a bronze maquette of colonial artist John Glover, designed by Peter Corlett and valued at $5000. The exhibition of finalists’ paintings is held over the March long-weekend in the historic Falls Park pavilion in Evandale, a village on the northern plains of Tasmania.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Joanna Chew, Tender

Winner: Glover Prize

  • Jennifer Riddle, Reflections and Reverence

Winner: Children’s Choice, People’s Choice

  • Dave Disher, The end of the world is beautiful.

Winner: Hanger’s Choice

The Different Award Categories

The Glover Prize is acquisitive, selected from around 40 works chosen by a panel of eminent judges. All other exhibited entries are eligible for the non-acquisitive People’s Choice Award of $3000, the Children’s Choice Award of $500 and the Hanger’s Choice Award of $500.

Information up to date from June 14 2023