Ravenswood Australian Women’s Art Prize

Medium / category: All mediums

Eligibility: Women Australian artists

Associated institution: Ravenswood School for Girls

The Ravenswood Australian Women’s Art Prize is an annual acquisitive prize that was launched in 2017 to advance art and opportunity for emerging and established women artists in Australia. Artists are asked to enter an artwork that best reflects their art practice. The award does not have a theme.

Notable Previous winners


  • Maria-Fernanda Cardoso, Actual Size V (Maratus Madelineae)

Winner: Professional Artist

  • Alethea Richter, Untitled (Dissolution 1)

Winner: Emerging Artist

  • Freyja Fristad, Interference of Perception: Rhopography (Lamp)

Winner: Indigenous Emerging Artist

The Different Award Categories

There are three prize categories, the Professional Artist Prize of $35,000, the Emerging Artist Prize of $5,000 and the Indigenous Emerging Artist Prize of $5,000. There is also a People’s Choice Award of $2,000 plus an art pack valued at $500.

Information up to date from June 14 2023