Kilgour Art Prize

Medium / category: Painting

Eligibility: Australian citizens or permanent residents in Australia

Associated institution: Newcastle Art Gallery  

The Kilgour Prize, an annual art prize for figurative and portrait painting administered annually by Newcastle Art Gallery. It awards $50,000 for the most outstanding work of art as determined by a panel of three judges. Each year the judging panel is comprised of Newcastle Art Gallery’s Director and two invited external judges.

Jack Noel Kilgour (1900–1987) was an Australian artist well-known for his academic approach to landscape and portrait painting. His works are well represented in the Newcastle Art Gallery collection, as well as in other significant state and national collections. In 1987 Kilgour bequeathed funds for the creation of a major figurative and portrait art competition to be run in perpetuity at the Gallery. As per the terms of Kilgour’s will the inaugural Kilgour Prize was held in 2006. Originally held every two years and awarding $30,000, the prize has now become annual and awards $50,000.

Notable Previous Winners


  • Lori Pensini, Family, 2021

Winner: Kilgour Art Prize

The Different Award Categories

In addition to the $50,000 prize, a further $5,000 is awarded through the People’s Choice, with the winner chosen by visitors voting at the Gallery.

Information up to date from June 14 2023